Which countries are included in OAPI? | Two-Minutes Lesson


OAPI, the Organisation Africaine de la Propriété Intellectuelle, was created by the Bangui Agreement on March 2, 1977. Although it came into force on February 8, 1982, a revised Bangui Agreement came into force on February
28, 2002.

As an organization, OAPI ensures the protection of intellectual property rights in most African French speaking countries. Currently, it serves as a central registration system of intellectual property for 17 countries. These are:

  1. Benin,
  2. Burkina Faso,
  3. Cameroon,
  4. the Central African Republic,
  5. Chad,
  6. the Comoros,
  7. the Congo,
  8. Côte d’Ivoire,
  9. Equatorial Guinea,
  10. Gabon,
  11. Guinea,
  12. Guinea-Bissau,
  13. Mali,
  14. Mauritania,
  15. the Niger,
  16. Senegal, and
  17. Togo.

OAPI is designed to afford member states the opportunity to work collaboratively, share resources and exchange ideas to meet economic and social development needs, and promote literary and artistic expression.


NLIPW offers trademark registration in OAPI. To order our services please email trademarks@nlipw.com 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
About Ufuoma Akpotaire 310 Articles
Ufuoma is a Senior Editor and Director of Regulatory Policy at NLIPW. She assists clients in the protection of copyrights, trademarks and patents. She counsels clients regarding validity and infringement matters and has experience acting against the infringement of IP and addressing counterfeit issues. She holds a Masters degree (LL.M.) from Columbia Law School, New York and a law degree from the University of Nigeria (LL.B. Honors). She is admitted to practice law in Nigeria and in the State of New York. Ufuoma cut her teeth in the intellectual property practice groups of some of the largest law firms in Nigeria and has years of experience working with major non-profit organizations in New York. Email: uakpotaire@nlipw.com