University of IbadanOverview

University of Ibadan (UI) is the first University in Nigeria. Until 1962 when it became a full-fledged independent University, it was a College of the University of London in a special relationship scheme. The University, which took off with academic programs in the Arts, Science and Medicine, is now a comprehensive citadel of learning with academic programs in thirteen Faculties.

The University is currently structured as a non-profit public higher education institution. UI’s Postgraduate School is the largest in Africa, with its undergraduate and postgraduate student population split 50/50.

UI offers courses and programs leading to education degrees including Bachelors, Masters, and Doctorate degrees in several areas of study. The University produces an average of 3,000 Masters and 250 PhD’s every year.

International applicants are eligible to apply for enrollment at UI.

General Information

University Name: University of Ibadan
Nickname: UI
Year Established: 1948
University Motto: Recte Sapere Fons (For Knowledge and Sound Judgement)
Country Rank: 1
World Rank: 1335
Academic Calendar: Semesters
Law School: Yes, University of Ibadan – Faculty of Law
Other Faculties: Yes, University of Ibadan has 13  faculties including  Arts, Science, Basic Medical Sciences, Clinical Sciences, Agriculture and Forestry, the Social Sciences, Education, Veterinary Medicine, Pharmacy, Technology, Law, Public Health and Dentistry.

The Faculties of the Basic Medical Sciences, Clinical Sciences, Public Health and Dentistry are organised as a College of Medicine.

The University has other academic units including the Institute of Child Health, Institute of Education, Institute of African Studies, Centre for Child Adolescent and Mental Health, Centre for Educational Media Resource Studies, African Regional Centre for Information Science (ARCIS), Centre for Peace and Conflict Studies (CEPACS), Centre for Petroleum, Energy, Economics and Law (CPEEL), Centre for Sustainable Development (CESDEV),  Centre for Entrepreneurship and Innovation (CEI), Institute for Advanced Medical Research and Training (IAMRAT), Centre for Drug Discovery, Development & Production (CDDDP), and the Centre for Control & Prevention of Zoonosis (CCPZ).

Accreditation: University of Ibadan is accredited by the National Universities Commission, Nigeria.
Library Collection: Yes, Kenneth Dike Library (KDL)
Trademark Filings and University Licensing: Not Reported
Degrees and Certificates Awarded: Multiple including Bachelor degrees, Masters degrees, Doctorate degrees in several areas of study.
Social Media: facebook-icon.-e1487632467618.pngtwitter-icon.pnglinkedin-icon.png