University of Ghana was established in 1948 as a non-profit public higher education institution located in the urban setting of the large city of Legon, Greater Accra. University of Ghana has also branch campuses in the following location(s): Korle-Bu, Accra City. University of Ghana is officially accredited and/or recognized by the National Accreditation Board, Ghana (National Accreditation Board, Ghana). University of Ghana (UG) is a very large coeducational higher education institution which offers courses and programs leading to officially recognized higher education degrees such as pre-bachelor degrees (i.e. certificates, diplomas, associate or foundation degrees), bachelor degrees, master degrees, doctorate degrees in several areas of study. As the leading university in Ghana, the University aims to produce the next generation of thought leaders to drive national development. Through research institutes and other centres of learning and research, faculty members are involved in studies that support policy making for national development, often in collaboration with other international institutions. International applicants are eligible to apply for enrollment at University of Ghana.

General Information

University Name: University of Ghana

Nickname:    UG

Year Established: 1948

University Motto: Integri Procedamus (Proceed with Integrity)

Country Rank: 1

World Rank: 1197

Academic Calendar: Semesters

Law School: Yes, School of Law

Other Schools: Yes, University of Ghana has other colleges including College of Health Sciences, College of Basic and Applied Sciences, College of Humanities, College of Education and School of Graduate Studies.

The University has other Centre, Institutes and Units including Pan-African Doctoral Academy at the University of Ghana, Institute of Applied Science and Technology, Institute for Environment and Sanitation Studies  , Biotechnology Research Centre, Forest and Horticultural Crop Research Centre (FOHCREC), Livestock and Poultry Research Centre (LIPREC), Soil and Irrigation Research Centre (SIREC), West Africa Centre for Crop Improvement, West African Center for Cell Biology of Infectious Pathogens, Center for Climate Change and Sustainability Studies(C3SS), Noguchi Memorial Institute for Medical Research, Centre for Tropical, Clinical Pharmacology & Therapeutics, Institute of African Studies, Regional Institute for Population Studies, Institute for Statistical, Social and Economic Research, Maria Sibylla Merian Institute for Advanced Studies in Africa, Centre for Gender Studies and Advocacy, Centre for Migration Studies, Centre for Social Policy Studies, Centre for Urban Management Studies, Centre for Asian Studies, Centre for Latin American Studies, Centre for Ageing Studies, Centre for European Studies, Centre for Remote Sensing and Geographical Information Systems, Language Centre, Legon Centre for International Affairs and Diplomacy, Accra City Campus, Remote Sensing and Geographical Information Systems Labs.

Accreditation: University of Ghana is National Accreditation Board, Ghana (National Accreditation Board, Ghana)

Memberships and Affiliations

  • Association of Commonwealth Universities (ACU)
  • Association of African Universities (AAU)
  • International Association of Universities (IAU)
  • League of World Universities (LWU)
  • Council for International Educational Exchange (CIEE)
  • International Student Exchange Program (ISEP)

Library Collection: Yes, Balme Library

Trademark Filings and University Licensing: Nil

Degrees and Certificates Awarded: Multiple including Bachelor degrees in several areas of study.

Social Media:


Google Plus