University of BeninUniversity of Benin is a non-profit public higher education institution located in Ugbowo, Edo State. The university was founded in 1970.

The university has been officially accredited and/or recognized by the National Universities Commission, Nigeria.

The university offers courses and programs leading to officially recognized higher education degrees such as bachelor degrees, master degrees, doctorate degrees in several areas of study.

The University collaborates with other universities around the world and with both local and international bodies such as USAID, Ford Foundation, UNCF (United Negro College Fund), RMRDC (Raw Materials Research & Development Council of Nigeria) amongst others in the areas of Agriculture, Public Health and Engineering.

UNIBEN also provides several academic and non-academic facilities and services to students including a library, as well as administrative services. International applicants are eligible to apply for enrollment at UNIBEN.

 General Information

University NameUniversity of Benin
Nickname: UNIBEN
Year Established: 1970
University Motto: Knowledge for Service
Country Rank: 8
World Rank: 4309
Academic Calendar: Semesters
Law School: Yes, Faculty of Law
Other Faculties: Yes, University of Benin has 15 faculties/college including Faculty of Agriculture, Faculty of Arts, Faculty of Education, Faculty of Engineering, Faculty of Environmental Sciences, Faculty of Law, Faculty of Management sciences, Faculty of Life Sciences, Faculty of Pharmacy, Faculty of Physical Sciences, School of Basic Med. Science, School of Dentistry, School of Medicine, Faculty of Social Sciences, College of Medical Sciences.

The University of Benin has other Centre and Units including Anti-Corruption and Transparency Unit,  African Center for Mushroom Research and Technology Innovations (ACMRTI), Center for Distance Learning, Center for Excellence & Reproductive Health Innovation, Center for Excellence in Geosciences and Petroleum Engineering (C.O.E.G.A.P.E), Center for Forensic Medicine, Guidiance and Councelling, Institute of Public Administration and Extension Services (IPAES), Center for Gender Studies, Center for Part-Time Programmes, Center for Educational Technology, National Center for Energy and Environment, Institute of Child Health, Center for Entrepreneural Development, Intellectual Property and Technology Transfer Office, Center for Maritime and ICT, Institute of Education.

  Accreditation: University of Ibadan is accredited by the National Universities Commission, Nigeria.

Affiliations and Memberships

  • Association of Commonwealth Universities (ACU)
Library Collection: Yes, The John Harris Library
Trademark Filings and University Licensing: Not Reported
Degrees and Certificates Awarded: Multiple including Bachelor degrees, Masters degrees, Doctorate degrees in several areas of study.
Social Media: facebook-icon.-e1487632467618.pngtwitter-icon.pnglinkedin-icon.png    
Print Friendly, PDF & Email