Abubakar Tafawa Balewa was founded in 1988 as a non-profit public higher education institution located in the urban setting of the small city of Bauchi. The university is named after the first Prime Minister of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, Sir Abubakar Tafawa Balewa.  Abubakar Tafawa Balewa is officially accredited and/or recognized by the National Universities Commission, Nigeria.  Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University (ATBU) offers courses and programs leading to officially recognized higher education degrees such as bachelor degrees, master degrees, doctorate degrees in several areas of study. The academic pattern of the university was formulated in 1980 after consultation with subject experts from Nigeria, United Kingdom and the United States of America. The curriculum adopted was applied in nature, as suited a technologically based institution, and this theme is maintained in all the units of the university. ATBU also provides several academic and non-academic facilities and services to students including a library, sport facilities and/or activities, as well as administrative services. International applicants are eligible to apply for enrollment at ATBU.

General Information

University Name: Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University

Nickname: ATBU

Year Established: 1988

University Motto: “Doctrina mater artium” (Education is the mother of the practical arts)

Country Rank: 27

World Rank: 7802

Academic Calendar: Semesters

Law School: No

Other Faculty: Yes, Abubakar Tafawa Balewa has other faculties including  Faculty of Agriculture and Agricultural Technology, Faculty of Engineering and Engineering Technology, Faculty of Environmental Technology, Faculty of Management Technology, Faculty of Technology Education, Faculty of Science. ATBU run two Academic Support Units which are Directorate for Remedial and Basic Studies and General studies Directorate. The University runs a School of Postgraduate Studies and College of Medicine.

The University has other Centre, directorate and Units including:

Centres – Center for Industrial Studies, University Medical Centre, Centre for Zeri Emmission Research Initiative, National Centre for Petroleum Research and Development, Equipment Maintenance Centre, Centre for Entrepreneurship Studies, Agrometrological Centre.

Directorates –  Directorate of Academic Planning and Quality Assurance, Directorate of Human Resource Development, Directorate of Linkages, Directorate of Endowment, Directorate of Information and Communication Technology, Directorate of General Studies, Directorate of Basic and Remedial Studies, Directorate of Works and Services, Directorate of Research and Innovation.

Units –  Industrial Training Coordinating Unit, Security Unit, Public Relations Unit, Sports Unit

Accreditation: Abubakar Tafawa Balewa is accredited by the National Universities Commission, Nigeria.

Affiliations and Memberships

  • Association of Commonwealth Universities (ACU)
  • Association of African Universities (AAU)

Library Collection: Yes, ATBU Library

Trademark Filings and University Licensing: Not Reported

Degrees and Certificates Awarded: Multiple including Bachelor degrees, Masters Degrees, Doctorate degrees in several areas of study.

Social Media:  Nil

Print Friendly, PDF & Email