University of Port HarcourtOverview

University of Port Harcourt was established in 1975 as a non-profit public higher education institution located in the suburban setting of the large city of Port Harcourt.

Also know as UNIPORT, the university has been officially accredited by the National Universities Commission.

University of Port Harcourt (UNIPORT) offers courses and programs leading to officially recognized higher education degrees such as pre-bachelor degrees (i.e. certificates, diplomas, associate or foundation degrees), bachelor degrees, master degrees, doctorate degrees in several areas of study.

UNIPORT as a higher-education institution has a selective admission policy based on entrance examinations and students’ past academic record and grades. UNIPORT also provides several academic and non-academic facilities and services to students including a library, housing, sport facilities and/or activities, financial aids and/or scholarships, study abroad and exchange programs, online courses and distance learning opportunities, as well as administrative services. International applicants are eligible to apply for enrollment at UNIPORT.

General Information

University Name: University of Port Harcourt
Nickname: UNIPORT
Year Established: 1975
University Motto: For Enlightenment and Self-Reliance
Country Rank: 10
World Rank: 5856
Academic Calendar: Semesters
Law School: Yes, Law
Other Faculties: Yes, University of Port Harcourt has various faculties/schools including Education, Agriculture, Engineering, Humanities, Social Sciences, Management Sciences, Health Sciences, College of Continuing Education, School of Graduate Studies, Law.

The University of Port Harcourt has other Centre and Units including

Quality Assurance & Quality Control/SERVICOM Units.  University of Port Harcourt runs a Business School | UPB

Accreditation: University of Ibadan is accredited by the National Universities Commission, Nigeria.

Other Specialized or Programmatic Accreditations

  • Nigerian Universities Commission (NUC)

Affiliations and Memberships

  • Association of Commonwealth Universities (ACU)
  • Association of African Universities (AAU)
Library Collection: Yes Donald Ekong Library
Trademark Filings and University Licensing: Not Reported
Degrees and Certificates Awarded: Multiple including Bachelor degrees, Masters degrees, Doctorate degrees in several areas of study.
Social Media: facebook-icon.-e1487632467618.pngtwitter-icon.png      
Print Friendly, PDF & Email