OAUObafemi Awolowo University was established in 1962. The University is set up as a non-profit public higher education institution. It is located in the suburban setting of the large town of Ile-Ife and is officially accredited by the National Universities Commission, Nigeria.

Obafemi Awolowo University (OAU) offers courses and programs leading to officially recognized higher education degrees such as pre-bachelor degrees (i.e. certificates, diplomas, and associate or foundation degrees), bachelor degrees, master degrees, doctorate degrees in several areas of study.

OAU has a selective admission policy based on entrance examinations. OAU also provides several academic and non-academic facilities and services to students including a library, housing, sport facilities and/or activities, financial aids and/or scholarships, online courses and distance learning opportunities, as well as administrative services. International applicants are eligible to apply for enrollment at OAU.

General Information

University Name: Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife

Nickname: OAU

Year Established: 1962

University Motto: For Learning and Culture

Country Rank: 4

World Rank: 1986

Academic Calendar: Semester

Law School: Yes

Other Faculty: Yes, Obafemi Awolowo University offers undergraduate and post-graduate programs in fields of specialization spanning the humanities, the arts, the natural sciences, the social sciences, the medical sciences, engineering and technology.

The university has 13 faculties and two colleges — the Postgraduate College and the College of Health Sciences — administered in more than 60 departments. It was previously associated with Loma Linda University in California, USA. The faculties are:

Below is the list of colleges:

The following are centers of excellence at OAU working in several fields of research:

Accreditation: Obafemi Awolowo University is accredited by the National Universities Commission, Nigeria.

Library Collection: Yes

Trademark Filings and University Licensing: Not Reported

Degrees and Certificates Awarded: Multiple including Bachelor degrees, Masters Degrees, Doctorate degrees in several areas of study.

Social Media:
Facebook icon