Nnamdi Azikiwe University was established in 1991 as a non-profit public higher education institution located in the suburban setting of the small city of Awka Anambra. Nnamdi Azikiwe University is officially accredited and recognized by the National Universities Commission, Nigeria . Nnamdi Azikiwe University (NAU) offers courses and programs leading to officially recognized higher education degrees such as pre-bachelor degrees (i.e. certificates, diplomas, associate or foundation degrees), bachelor degrees, master degrees, doctorate degrees in several areas of study. NAU also provides several academic and non-academic facilities and services to students including a library, sport facilities and/or activities, study abroad and exchange programs, as well as administrative services. International applicants are eligible to apply for enrollment at Nnamdi Azikiwe University.

General Information

University Name: Nnamdi Azikiwe University

Nickname: NAU

Year Established: 1991

University Motto: Discipline, Self Reliance and Excellence

Country Rank: 25

World Rank: 7799

Academic Calendar: Semester

Law School: No

Other Faculty: Yes, Nnamdi Azikiwe University has other faculties including Faculty of Agriculture, Faculty of Arts, Faculty of Biosciences, Faculty of Education, Faculty of Engineering, Faculty of Environmental Sciences, Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences. The university has three schools including School of General Studies, School of Postgraduate Studies, UNIZIK Business School. The University has other Centre and Units including Centre for Sustainable Development, Centre for Community and Rural Development, Centre for Arts, Culture and Humanities.

Accreditation: Nnamdi Azikiwe University is accredited by the National Universities Commission, Nigeria.

Other Specialized or Programmatic Accreditations

  • Council for the Regulation of Engineering in Nigeria (COREN)
  • Medical and Dental Council of Nigeria (MDCN)

Library Collection: Yes, NAU Library

Trademark Filings and University Licensing: Not Reported

Degrees and Certificates Awarded: Multiple including Bachelor degrees, Masters Degrees, Doctorate degrees in several areas of study.

Social Media: