Federal University of Technology OwerriOverview

Federal University of Technology Owerri was founded in 1980 as a non-profit public higher education institution.

The University is located in the urban setting of the large town of Owerri in Imo State.

Officially accredited and/or recognized by the National Universities Commission, Nigeria. Federal University of Technology, Owerri (FUTO) is a co-educational higher education institution which offers courses and programs leading to officially recognized higher education degrees such as bachelor degrees, master degrees, and doctorate degrees in several areas of study.

FUTO is one of the premier technological universities in western Africa and its student body comprises of people from all over West Africa and beyond. It is the only federal university of technology in the south-east of Nigeria, and one of the oldest in West Africa. The University is known for its technologically strong graduates, evidenced by the large number its alumni currently in oil and gas companies in Nigeria. International applicants are eligible to apply for enrollment at FUTO.

General Information

University Name: Federal University of Technology, Owerri 

Nickname: FUTO

Year Established: 1980

University Motto: Technology For Service

Country Rank: 12

World Rank: 4680

Academic Calendar:

Law School: No

Other Faculty: Yes, Federal University of Technology Owerri has 8 schools including School of Agriculture & Agricultural Technology, School of Basic Medical Sciences, School of Biological Sciences, School of Engineering & Engineering Technology, School of Environmental Technology, School of Health Technology, School of Management Technology, School of Physical Sciences.

The University has other Centre and Units including Institute for Environmental Health & Justice, Institute for Erosion Studies (IES), Institute for Women/Gender & Development Studies (IWOGDS), Intellectual Property & Technological Transfer Office (IPTTO), Centre for Agricultural Research and Extension (CARE), Centre for Energy and Power Systems Research (CEPSR), Public Procurement Research Centre (PPRC), Centre for Continuing Education (CCE), Centre for Entrepreneurial Studies (CES), Centre for Human Resource Development, Centre for Industrial Studies (CIS), Central Instrument/Equipment Centre, Centre for Nuclear Energy Studies and Training (CNEST), Center for Research and International Development (CRID), Information and Communications Technology Centre (ICTC), Nigeria/Israeli Centre for Management Studies, Servicom Unit, University Computer Centre (UCC)

Accreditation: Federal University of Technology Owerri is accredited by the National Universities Commission, Nigeria.

Library Collection: Yes, FUTO Library

Trademark Filings and University Licensing: Not Reported

Degrees and Certificates Awarded: Multiple including Bachelor degrees, Masters Degrees, Doctorate degrees in several areas of study.

Social Media:


Print Friendly, PDF & Email