Ahmadu Bello UniversityOverview


Ahmadu Bello University was established in October 4, 1962.

The University is a non-profit public higher education institution located in the urban setting of the large city of Zaria, Kaduna. Ahmadu Bello University is named after the Sardauna of Sokoto, Alhaji Sir Ahmadu Bello, the first premier of Northern Nigeria.

The University has been officially accredited and recognized by the National Universities Commission, Nigeria.

ABU offers courses and programs leading to officially recognized higher education degrees such as pre-bachelor degrees (i.e. certificates, diplomas, and associate or foundation degrees), bachelor degrees, master degrees, doctorate degrees in several areas of study.

This higher-education institution has a selective admission policy based on entrance examinations and students’ past academic record and grades. The admission rate range is 90-100% making this Nigerian higher education organization a least selective institution.

In the over forty years of its existence, the ABU has grown to become the largest, and the most influential and diverse university in Nigeria. Consisting of eighty-two (82) Academic Departments, twelve (12) Faculties, and twelve (12) Research Institutes and Specialized Centres, the University offers undergraduate and postgraduate courses in such diverse fields as Agriculture, Public and Business Administration, Engineering, Environmental Design, Education, Biological and Physical Sciences, Medical and Pharmaceutical Sciences, the Humanities, Law and Social Sciences.

General Information

University Name: Ahmadu Bello University

Nickname: ABU

Year Established: 1962

University Motto: Discipline, Self-Reliance and Excellence

Country Rank: 4

World Rank: 3049

Academic Calendar: Semesters

Law School: Yes, Faculty of Law

Other Faculty: Yes, Ahmadu Bello University has Faculties including –

Faculty of







Environmental Design


Physical Sciences

Life Sciences

Pharmaceutical Science

Social Science

Veterinary Medicine

Ahmadu Bello University has other academic units and centres including the:

Center  for Historical Documentation and Research Arewa House

Centre for Energy Research and Training

Centre for Spacial Information Science

Centre for Islamic and Legal Studies

Directorate of Academic Planning and Monitoring

Directorate of Public Affairs

Directorate of University Advancement

Division of Agricultural Colleges

Gender Policy Unit

Institute of Administration

Institute for Agricultural Research

Institute of Computing & ICT

Institute of Development Research

Institute of Education

International Center of  Excellence for Rural Finance & Entrepreneurship

National Animal Production Research Institute

National Agricultural Extension & Research Liaison Service

Ahmadu Bello University runs Post Graduate Studies

Accreditation: Ahmadu Bello University is accredited by the National Universities Commission, Nigeria.

Other Specialized or Programmatic Accreditations

  • Pharmaceutical Council of Nigeria (PCN)
  • Medical and Dental Council of Nigeria (MDCN)
  • Nigerian Institute of Architects (NIA)
  • Nursing and Midwifery Council of Nigeria (NMCN)
  • Nigerian Institute of Building (NIOB)
  • Council of Legal Education (CLE)

Affiliations and Memberships

  • Association of Commonwealth Universities (ACU)
  • Association of African Universities (AAU)

Library Collection: Yes

Trademark Filings and University Licensing: Not Reported

Degrees and Certificates Awarded: Multiple including Bachelor degrees, Masters Degrees, Doctorate degrees in several areas of study.

Social Media:


Twitter IconLinkedIn

Print Friendly, PDF & Email